How to Stop Saying “Yes” When You Want to Say “No” by Guest Blogger Stacey Hall

“Half of the troubles of this life can be traced to saying ‘yes’ too quickly and not saying ‘no’ soon enough.”

~Josh Billings

I was watching the Jim Carrey movie, ‘Yes, Man’, and it reminded me that I used to be a ‘Yes, Girl.’

It was so important to me that I be thought of as ‘nice’ that I would say ‘yes’ to almost anything that I was asked.  And, once I said ‘yes’ I would almost always then mentally kick myself because I really wished that I had said ‘no.’

I always kept my word…yet that would often mean putting my own needs aside in order to take care of the needs, wants or desires of someone else.

I often wished for a way to say ‘no’ in a nice way.

One day, I got my wish.  I made a request of someone else…and they replied with,

‘Thank you.  That doesn’t work for me.’

I loved that answer!

No explanations, no excuses…just a clear and complete answer that she would not accept my request.

I began practicing using this answer and I found that it works perfectly every time.

I now use this response whenever I am asked to do something that will take me further away from achieving my goals with velocity and ease.

And, I have taught this statement to all of my clients…who also have used it with great success.

If you are someone who finds their self constantly saying ‘yes’ to others when you really want to say ‘no,’ then I encourage you to practice saying, ‘Thank you. That doesn’t work for me.’

Of course…only if that works for you!

Stacey Hall, L.S.H., C.N.T.C., is the CEO and Founder of the Hall Institute of Intuitive Wellness and the best-selling author of ‘Chi-To-Be! Achieving Your Ultimate B-All.’ (http://www.chi-to-be.com)

About Pretty Smart Virtual Services

I'm the Chief Overwhelm Eliminator at Pretty Smart Virtual Services - where we specialize in Rescuing YOU Out of Overwhelm So You Can Do What You Love. Take Back Your Life--Let Us Tackle Your To-Do List! Specialties: Dreamweaver, Audacity, Audio Acrobat, InstantTeleseminar, WordPress, Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn, YouTube, Joomla, Drupal, Google+, Pinterest I'd love to connect with you here on LinkedIn, please send me a connect request. If you'd like to learn how a virtual assistant can help you leverage your business efforts, please email me and let me know you'd like to set up a complimentary discovery session.
This entry was posted in Entrepreneur and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to How to Stop Saying “Yes” When You Want to Say “No” by Guest Blogger Stacey Hall

  1. Great post! This reminded me of a post “How to say no when you are pressured to say yes?” | http://competentleadership.wordpress.com/2012/07/30/how-to-say-no-when-you-are-pressured-to-say-yes/

Leave a Reply

