Camping is good for the soul…

It is summertime – at my house, we’re in full swing of camping time! I find that camping is good for the soul.

Around my house, that means as many weekends as possible, we’re camping somewhere. And we camp in a lot of remote places. And by remote, I mean dirt road, four wheel drive and reasonably high clearance vehicle and no actual facilities or running water remote. My husband and I have really enjoyed expanding our camping horizons and recently went to a place this past weekend in the Tahoe National Forest area – just beautiful. Pristine lakes. Beautiful plants. Camping is Good for the SoulAmazing dragonflies and other creatures of God’s creation. 🙂 The photo to the right is of a dragonfly that was perched on the antenna of our truck while I was grabbing a change of clothes after swimming in the lake.

One of my teammates asked me what I felt like camping does for my soul and I thought it was a great question (thanks, Lindsay!) and here are my thoughts:

Camping is one of the truest ways to really connect with nature.

Especially in some of the places where we’ve camped: no facilities can mean you have to dig a hole to conduct your bathroom business. You may have to bathe in a lake (oh and did I mention that’s direct snow run off – BURRRR!). You can enjoy the surreal settings of a jagged mountaintop in the distance, or the close trickle of a waterfall that has been created by the passage of water over a small drop off nearby to your camp area (which by the way, is not a ‘designated camping area, it’s one of those you find a level spot to get your stuff into and set up camp where it looks like it may be appropriate–LOL).

The silence in a setting like this can be completely deafening or it can be a warm embrace of unplugging from society, my email, the grid and everything else. I find that in these settings, I really truly find out what I’m made of…when I’m hiking along a cliff face that drops off a thousand feet or traversing boulders that are larger than my car – I am able to tap into my faith and know that I can get through this. I remember once when hiking with my husband on a trail in Yosemite being afraid of the sheer drop offs to the right side of where we were hiking up several switchbacks (the lesser traveled trail versus the Mist Trail) – and thinking “I’m going to die.” I remember giggling to myself because I knew that was absurd – I immediately replaced that thought with “God isn’t ready to meet me yet, He’s going to keep me safe and He wants me to see all of this beautiful scenery.” And I find myself tapping into that statement often when I’m in a precarious situation hiking or a very remote setting where I’m not sure if I just heard a mountain lion growl off in the distance, or was that someone discharging a firearm several miles away? Things that really make you go “hmmm.”

These are the places my husband and I are able to capture some of the most amazing photos – things that are so surreal looking that even the photo doesn’t do it justice. The photo below sums that up in a sense. The scenery was perfect glass-like quality to the lake, beautiful cumulus clouds in the sky reflecting perfectly into the lake – just incredible!IMG_0461

I always return from a camping trip rejuvenated and ready to take on the world!

Check back on Thursday when I will reveal my packing, planning and resource ideas for camping – I will be sharing how my husband and I plan for a trip, whether big or small. 🙂

How about you? Are you an outdoor enthusiast? Do you love camping? I’d love to hear about it!

Camping is good for the soul

About Pretty Smart Virtual Services

I'm the Chief Overwhelm Eliminator at Pretty Smart Virtual Services - where we specialize in Rescuing YOU Out of Overwhelm So You Can Do What You Love. Take Back Your Life--Let Us Tackle Your To-Do List! Specialties: Dreamweaver, Audacity, Audio Acrobat, InstantTeleseminar, WordPress, Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn, YouTube, Joomla, Drupal, Google+, Pinterest I'd love to connect with you here on LinkedIn, please send me a connect request. If you'd like to learn how a virtual assistant can help you leverage your business efforts, please email me and let me know you'd like to set up a complimentary discovery session.
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

